Tiny Metal Tube

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tiny Metal Tube

Reaction score
Hello to all!   After all these years, I think I may have finally found my people. I'm not sure whether there's a preferred format for these intro posts, so I'll tell you a little about myself first, then I'll go into how I got here, then I'll just kinda ramble for a while.

I'm a software developer, working mostly in database stuff. I work remotely 99% of the time. That is to say, I had to go into the office twice last year. The rest of the year I have a one-minute commute to downstairs.

A series of related interests (minimalism, stoicism, outdoors/nature/camping, self-sufficiency, financial independence, pantheism) had predisposed me toward van life, though I didn't realize those interests had names at first. While I was aware some people live in their vehicles, I certainly had no idea it was a large, growing, semi-organized movement, sometimes at the forefront of technology. 

Boy, was I surprised, roughly March 2017, when YouTube suggested a video. I'm pretty sure it was "Living in a car: Top 10 places to sleep" from Hobo Ahle. I don't know why I clicked it (probably because of the hot girl), but I did. I suppose YouTube knew my interests better than I did. Questions streamed through my mind before I even clicked it. Why would you live in your car? Why would you tell everyone where you sleep? Why are you making YouTube videos about it? How are you uploading them?   Well, I watched the video, and suddenly van life wasn't so crazy anymore.  But one video is a fluke. I needed more.