Shopping for a 14' -Haul

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thomas

Reaction score
I have been shopping for a 14’ U-Haul truck for several months.  I’m sharing what I’ve learned so far, hoping that someone will correct me if I got it wrong, and also in case someone has some additional tips and tricks for buying the truck I want.

I’ve been visiting the U-Haul Truck Sales website so often and made so many calls about trucks for sale that I can now filter my search results to “new in stock,” which eliminates those trucks that I’ve already rejected.  Yesterday I called about a new in stock truck posted for sale, to learn that the trucks listed for sale are often not really for sale.  For example, the truck I called about yesterday was being leased and used as a billboard.  Ah, that explains why the trucks I’ve inquired about were not really in the condition indicated on the Truck Sales web site:  After the truck is evaluated, it sits for several months or years as a storage facility or a billboard.  Once all the rubber components have sat idle for months, once the catalytic converter has been stolen, once the lease expires, THEN the truck is for sale.