Planning Stages: Lots of design ideas

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kyonu

Reaction score
Hey folks,

Last night my ladyfriend and I decided that at the end of next year, we are going to finally hit the road full time. I am a certified computer tech (A+ and MCSA), so finding temp work shouldn't be *too* hard, but I have other skills relating to nutrition, pet care, yard work, etc.

She is going to Masseuse school later this year, and should be done mid next year. That gives us half a year to save and buy an Extended high Top (prefer Mega top) Sprinter, and build it out. Below I have some Design ideas I would like to go over with the pros and see what you think. These are all done in Excel, and I have standardized the coloring across all designs.

Note the BROWN line going around the entire side of the van--that is an extra inch NOT INCLUDING the panels already on the van. There is 71" cargo space inside a Sprinter, and I am utilizing 69" as livable due to an extra inch on the edges (probably for sound deadening and extra insulation.)

The images are pretty big, so I have linked them at the bottom of the page. You can open them up and then zoom in for a much larger diagram. Lets go over the images in order:

1.) This is my latest and possibly favorite design. It encompasses all the amenities I may need, and it partitions the "bridge" from the rest of the unit. I particularly like this design because I'm 6'4, and the shower in the middle gives me the maximum standing space.

The toilet pushes under the upper wardrobe for more shower room, and the shower head detaches and is a sprayer (like a garden hose) that you can turn on and off to save water.