Newbie here

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StarliteRambler

Reaction score
I've been lurking here for a while soaking up some good intel. Figured it was time to make it official...

I'm planning on going full-time when I turn 62 in 4 years. Currently living in North Carolina but I grew up in Texas and Oklahoma and the West is in my blood. With a little luck I should be able to get a decent rig with a little nest egg left over. I should get around $1k/month SS and I want to save a couple hundred of that and not touch the nest egg. Eggs are such fragile things...

I'm a musician and singer and will be bringing a handful of instruments with me regardless. Will have an iPad-based recording setup and I'm looking forward to getting way out there in the peace and quiet and see what happens. Looking at playing the winery circuit if it turns out to be fun and worth the hassle. Also into spin and fly fishing. NM has pretty reasonable out-of-state license. Colorado not so much. 

Not at all sure what rig to get. The first couple of years I want to move around a lot. Get the Senior Pass and see the NPs. I also want to explore parts of this country that aren't necessarily tourist destinations. Need to be mobile enough to get back East and see my daughter. All this points to a van and no dog to start out. Ford Transit is getting some nice upgrades for 2020 including AWD, more economical engine/trans and swivel seats. One way to go would be to get the high roof/extended and build it out as a permanent dwelling. But...I'm thinking when I am a couple years in having a dog and a TT would be nice. At that point I'll probably know spots I like that are do-able with a trailer. Really like the looks of the Rockwood Mini Lite 2109s.

Looking forward to getting to know you all here and, eventually, on the road!