lectric ebike

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wntrhwk

Reaction score
Hello, just wanted to see if anyone has purchased one of the ebikes that Bob is recommending. I just received one, a Lectric ebike, and realized the batteries are 48v. Obviously I should  have done more research but I don't know how one would charge these as a nomad, most folks have smaller 12v system. Any ideas would be great, otherwise I will be selling this. Thx for any help.

With all due respect that little 120 watt inverter will not be enough power for the typical electric bike 120v wall charger. 

If the source of energy to charge the electic bike is solar and batteries, then a larger inverter, and preferably a pure-sine inverter, in the 200-500 watt range is needed, and this is highly dependent on the amperage rating of the bike charger.

Hey Sofisintown, thx for the reply. I am not good with math, can you help with that? The battery is a 48v, 10.5ah battery. Any idea how much power it would take to charge up? Thanks for the help.

wntrhwk, the battery voltage is not as important as the charger specs. 

We need the specs on the charger label, to determine the inverter size required.

Then, we also need to know more about the size of your solar power capacity, if you want us to help you figure out if you will have enough reserve power to charge the bike.

Tx2sturgis, appreciate the help. The charger says output is 54.6v at 2 ramps. I currently have a 100amph battery with 200w panel. ⁷

Ok, this bike charger is in the 200 watt range, (approx) so you really need to have a 300-400 watt inverter, again preferably a pure sine inverter. With your solar system, you will be limited to partial charging on most days if you are also powering the typical items such as a laptop and/or a fridge.