Traveling with a cat

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

travelinjoan

Reaction score
Hi everyone.  Happy New Year.

Well I have been watching a lot of videos on compost toilets.  Was wondering if anyone out there traveling with a cat could tell me if it is o.k. to put the cats solid waste into the compost toilet.

Also if you are boondocking in a remote area can you bury the soiled cat liter.

Any information or suggestions greatly appreciated.

Thank you

I'm not a pro and I'll be watching others' comments with interest, but it seems to me the answer could be yes on both counts.

In the first scenario, cat droppings should compost exactly the same as human ones. In the second scenario, you'd just be returning animal waste to nature; it should be no different than deer or bear droppings, or even those of the "big" cats.

Someone may know of some reasons that would not be allowed, though.

If you are using kitty litter...then do not bury it, the chemicals are a problem.
As for throwing it into the composting head...sure...but it will fill up just that much faster...requiring you to make more runs to the dump station anyway.

Do not think that a composting head actually does the whole job of composting. Do not just dump it in a bush. Even a hole would have to be pretty big. Pine shavings take a long time to begin to break down. Straw is faster, but much harder to find and use. Coco coir is just a pain to find and breakup for use.

My composting toilet requires I empty it about once a month. I have to do a trash run about once a week...the bag with the used litter can be included at that time. I clean the box every day...open and reclose the same bag until it goes to the dump station.

Is traveling with a cat difficult? It seems like they would try to jump out and make noise when stealth camping. I would love to have one as a companion though.