Got a cargo to convert- where to go now?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Good to know. I think I'm under the false impression the whole country is 85 and humid like Florida. I'll have to figure out a solar system that is reasonably priced(not more than a few thousand) that could power things like a fan mounted to the window, my laptop, a 12v fridge, etc. I'm a total noob to this stuff.
Our slogan:
* cheap, simple, modular, redundant.
Fan:
We use a Craftsman 20v battery fan.
We acquired two from the local-owned family-operated home-improvement center -- Jerry's -- in Eugene, Oregon.
The batteries power several tools -- including a chain-saw -- so multiple uses from one equipment.
One 20v battery lasts at least a couple nights on LOW; we always have a spare next to it.
We acquired two fans, realized one is overly plenty, returned the other.
Advantages:
* portable -- set it up on the wire-racks pointing toward the bed, set it in the open doorway
* battery avoids wiring.
Photograph (we prefer supporting local-owned family-operated businesses):
www.lowes.com/pd/CRAFTSMAN-20-volt-Max-Jobsite-Fan-Batteries-Not-Included/1001044104
Photovoltaic:
We helped dismantle a system atop a two-story office building.
Apparently, in some weird universe, entire photovoltaic systems get a tax (something-or-a-nother) so replacement is cheaper than keeping.
Huh.
Our cost -- a few hours, zero fedbux.
We ganged the gig with our caravan chums; everybody received enough panels to use plus sell.
We have six 305-Watt, a total of 1,830-Watts photovoltaic topping our ancient AGM bank.
Speaking of 20v batteries and avoiding wiring:
Instead of permanent wiring hidden behind permanent walls feeding permanent lights...
... we use Black& Decker 20v square flashlights.
We carry at least a half-dozen in the Dodge, another half-dozen hanging on pegs in the rig.