Philosophy, I need to stop this and get away.

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tundrawolf

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a 38 year old single male. 

(Please, if you could read this, and offer me advice, I would be grateful!)

All of my life I have worked jobs I hated. The one exception was working with wolves, and possibly feeding the homeless and hungry, although that did not pay the bills at all, working with wolves or feeding people. 

Presently I have a "good" job, and I have learned (Forced myself) to like it, but after spending a few weeks off due to the slow season, I have begun working again, and 8 hours feels like 16. I don't "hate" what I do, but I severely don't like it. 

I am a writer and have written 13 novels, all science fiction. I LOVE writing. It is my passion... I do not assume my books are marketable, so I am not under any illusions they will make me money. (I write about sapient anthropomorphic creatures, it is a niche market)

Personally, I have a multitude of useful, marketable skills. Everything from working with computers to automotive to welding. I can, and have, built homes from the dirt up. 

Recently, I bought some property with a million dollar mountain view. I love the acreage and I don't want to lose it, but...

I have discovered the COUNTY has their tentacles in literally every aspect of your home, what you can build, what you cannot, and of course- permit$. I have also discovered property taxes- which means I technically do not actually own my land. The government does. Because if I fail to pay them, they send armed men to kick me off of my land. 

I know I have been around property taxe$ and permit$ all of my life, but it never actually hit home until I tried LIVING ON MY OWN LAND. 

Needless to say I am shades of livid and disgusted over this...