New to this

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mpfarmer

Reaction score
Good Evening Everyone: I am new to all this and have been researching Nomad life and watching Bob's videos. I am from Kentucky and my mother recently passed away and I am tired of paying high rents. I am a novice to Nomad life and will likely start in my compact car. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you all, Matthew

Welcome! While you still have a permanent address get a passport and valid driver’s license. Making your car comfortable so you can get a good nights sleep is most important! The more you let us know about yourself the more we can help!

Welcome! While you still have a permanent address get a passport and valid driver’s license. Making your car comfortable so you can get a good nights sleep is most important! The more you let us know about yourself the more we can help!
^^
Good advice here.

If you currently have a legal physical address try to get a Real-ID Compliant Drivers License. When presented, it proves you're not homeless, house less, nor are you residential camping.

Welcome to the Van Living Forum :)

Lots of good advice here already. And with spring right around the corner Kentucky has much to offer in outdoor recreation & travel. Much to see in KY.

It would give you a great "break in" to nomadic life and no doubt you'll meet some other nomads in the State Parks there to chat with and learn more about
what they have learned.

But before going on the road full time, it may be best to get acclimated to camping and just being out doors for a few days to get the feel of that. Seniors (usually 55 and up) may get week day discounts at State Parks (often these discounts start on Sunday evening thru Friday morning).

I've traveled Kentucky, Ohio, and West Virginia a lot as I live in southern Ohio.