My first attempt at van camping

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lab_nomad

Reaction score
I’m in Idaho working for 13 weeks. I am staying at a hotel, as I can’t find anything less expensive. Short-term furnished rentals are hard to come by (and expensive). And as I have a dog, and it’s 100 degrees, staying in the van is out of the question. I’m rather miffed, b/c the housing allowance (which is non-taxable) is what makes travel jobs attractive. Otherwise, I’m making the same money or even a bit less than my last permanent job. {sigh}

Anyhoo, I got my room for a week, and then when I went to book it for a month, I was able to get a better rate by checking in today, rather than yesterday, so I had to find a place to go for a night. I checked out freecampsites.net and found a place not too far (about 15 miles) from here. So, it was my first experience van camping versus just sleeping in the van on the 5-day drive to get here.

I stopped at a store to get supplies (batteries for my fan, water, kitty litter and garbage bags for u-know-what) and then promptly locked my keys in the van! With Penelope inside! Luckily, I called a local locksmith and he came so quickly and got the door opened in a jiffy. This Dodge Caravan has an unfortunate set up in that you can use the key fob to open the back gate or side sliding doors while the van remains locked. I had put my keys down on my plastic drawers while I was loading the supplies. Then, instead of using the key fob to close it, I pushed the button inside the door…and voila! So, I’m going to make sure from now on that whenever I open anything with the key fob that I push the unlock button first. And before I close anything, I’ll make sure I know where my keys are!