Law related needs on the road

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

freded

Reaction score
Good morning all, I'm a semi-retired lawyer. In order to keep my bar membership (Texas, Virginia, and Alaska) current, I have to complete continuing legal education in pretty much any legal topic I would like. I do van/camper living several months out of the year and I am looking for an area of law where there is a van life need. I'm not looking to make a bunch of money off of it but I do think that if there is a need, this is my opportunity to make a contribution. Does anyone have an area of law where you see there is a need for folks who are traveling around enjoying life on the road? My prior life was criminal (prosecution) courtroom practice so I have lots of flexibility. Thanks Fred

In broad terms, consumer fraud, product liability, false advertising. Folks that travel see more of this as we often are at the mercy of those who specialize in vehicle service in a strange town.
You asked so for me that's a sensitive area. Even if it was a clearing house for legal advise referral in X state would be helpful, and pro bono for the later a bonus.

Subscribed to this thread......

Not sure criminal prosecution is an area most of us need expertise in; but, if you are looking in the other direction, how about helping with the issue of needing a physical address to obtain a license, vote, and obtain legal insurance.

1. I would say carrying a firearm as you travel is a big one, just crossing a state line with a legal gun may be a felony.
2. Also where you can and cannot park for the night, Walmart used to be a safe place to spend the night, but more and more are off limits to overnight parking.
3. Towing speed limits, some states have different speed limits for people towing a trailer.
4. Covid restriction, just how far can the Government go with this.