If You Tow Or Want To Tow

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RoadtripsAndCampfires

Reaction score
Yesterday I visited a cargo trailer dealer and we got into a discussion about towing specs.  He said, "I've been selling trailers for 20 years and I've never heard that.  My boss has been around way longer than that and nobody knows more about trailers than he does he will tell you."

So we asked him.  His boss said I was right not the saleman.  And before that two Chevrolet dealership service guys told me also I was right after looking at the form.

We are misunderstanding the term "towing capacity."  You MUST DEDUCT THE WEIGHT OF THE TOW VEHICLE FROM THIS FIGURE AS IT IS INCLUDED.  So if you are told you can tow 10,000 and your car/truck weighs 5,500 your towing capacity is now at 4,500. You still have to deduct the hitch weight and your vehicle passengers and cargo.  And you need to not go over your tire pressure maximum and my Silverado HD 2500 is just under 3k - what's yours?

I created a form I used to determine my specs and have listed it on my web site.  It looks complicated like an old IRS form.  Yes, I know that.  But every single term is defined and you are shown where to use each figure and how it relates.  At the end you will see I was over my load (WITH A FREAKING CARGO VAN NO LESS!) and I had 4 options to solve the problem, which I show the results of each.  I then show my only option was to reduce the hitch weight from 480 to 280 by reducting the amount of stuff I could bring from the 4810 the trailer could handle to 2810 remaining weight the truck could tow.

People are towing houses with bookcases and fireplaces and lazy boys.  Yes, start with the big trucks that tow 25-30k or more if that is what you need.  The important thing is we need to know and all we've been told to date is b.s.

Don't shoot the messenger ok?