First Steps

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GypsySilver

Reaction score
Well, I guess this is it - somewhat.. lol. I finished out my lease, quit my job and left a place that I didn't really want to be. In this past year of getting ready to leave, I unloaded so much junk that I had been carrying around - it's embarrassing to say just how much - so I won't.

Soooo, here I am in Texas for the winter to see my grown kids and take care of a storage unit that I have been paying on for 5 years. I have gone through and picked out a few small items to keep. I've made arrangements for the rest to go to auction just after Christmas.

I do have a dilemma that I am thinking on. I have my car - Nissan Versa 2010 that is paid for. Great on gas but I really don't want to live in it. My son has a 1993 Ford Econoline Starcraft Custom Van - in great shape and 65thousand miles. He wants to sell it for 3 thou. My thoughts were to maybe buy it and it would be a start - plus something that could later pull a small trailer?

Right now I am kind of test driving it out and sleeping in it out in front of his place. (it has a bed in the back end) Planning to do that and work here over the winter driving my car. Then possibly selling the car to get a trailer.

There have been so many emotional changes lately that I'm just not sure if this is good thinking - to get rid of newer car for older van (and hopefully a trailer in the spring)

What do you all think?

Taking it slow is never a bad thing. You're lucky to have a place to ponder these life changes. That sounds like a good price onyour son's van.

I traded my 2002 Ford Ranger for the interior make-over of my 1989 Ford Class C. Never regretted it for a minute. If the moblile life is what you want, then you'll be happy with the trade.