Boondocking at work

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wheelsoffreedom1776

Reaction score
  When my employer realized that I live in my rv, he began suggesting I stay in the parking lot so as to avoid commuting and provide an added level of security to the company at night. (Been doing that for a few months now).  This may be an alternative to check out for people with regular jobs and cool management. 

Yes, I have done that in the past too.&nbsp; I'm a computer programmer, most of my work can be handled remotely, but sometimes I need to "be there".&nbsp; It's usually just for a few days...one time it was 6 weeks.&nbsp; Nobody has told me I couldn't, many even said "park over here where you can plug in."<br>

Boy, that is a win-win situation! You are very lucky. I never stayed at where I worked. It was a very busy 24 hr grocery store, and the parking lot was too noisy. I moved a few miles down the road to a competing grocery store that wasn't 24 hour. It worked out just fine except when it snowed and then I had plows working all around me. Bob<br>

One of the main reasons I went with a van this time was to cut down on driving back and forth to out of town or farther away jobs. I have used my small 14' camper once, my wife's minivan once and a hotel once. Anything more than 30-45 minutes away is fair game for the van these days with the cost of gas going up. Plus, if I'm not driving an hour and a half or two, my days can be longer and I can get done faster. On to the next one or some time off to do "me" stuff.