Someone in MY space 😑

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elisa7joy

Reaction score
Obviously I know it's not my spot... But.... I drove into my favorite parking lot of all time. Nestled in South eastern PA connected to a Home Depot is a lot where the lights actually turn off for 3 hours at night. I've been parking there occasionally since 2016 never been another person. UNTIL This guy... Medium size camper trailer hitched to a truck.
He had a dog, I have two dogs. Barking broke out. I calmed my dogs and tried to park out of his immediate view. I'm in a minivan mind you....
I walked over to say hi and ask how long he planned on staying. I told him I usually stay for a few days at a time. He was evasive but said sames. I mentioned I was asking because I'm in a minivan and the shade is very valuable to me. He managed to take up all of the spots that are shaded through the entire day. Otherwise I have to keep moving around. I was hoping that would put him at ease so that he would tell me his estimated departure.
Instead he got a bit irritated, said "So you want me to move". Which obv I would have liked, but never would have had the presumptive attitude of expecting or even asking him to do. I just wanted a departure date from him, so I could rearrange my plans and go back when he was gone.
Anyhow I just backed away and avoided him that week. I stayed about 6days. So two weeks later I drove through. He's still there!!!!! So disappointed.
With the winter he might leave... Also I won't have my doors open to stay cool, but what to do if he doesn't???
Anyone else had this issue??

No never had that issue because I avoid camping in towns.

When he said "So you want me to move" I would have taken it as a question, thanked him & told him that was very kind of him.