Digital Nomad Nattering

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 37921

Reaction score
I still haven't spent a ton of time on this site but received some great welcomes in my Newcomer's Corner post. Thought I'd start dropping notes here in this post as I Captain my rig.

First off some of the details: I'm 56 and work a full time job out of my van. I am an HR Cloud Software Admin for a global Agriculture company. Basically, I manage all of the software and systems related to how we post jobs all over the Internet, process candidates and hire people. I have been remote at my job for the last 5 years

I mostly moved into the van at the beginning of August but I still had an apartment in Colorado Springs. That lease ended 8/31/23 and I've been full time in the van since.

I have a 2013 Ford E350 Extended Body Passenger Van with about 70K miles. I bought it this last Spring and gutted the passenger area and built out a very primitive living and work space. I had a fiberglass hightop installed by Wasatch Overland in Salt Lake City. I installed a Maxxaire fan, and 12V Dometic Air Conditioner on the hightop as well as a Flat High Performance Starlink dish. I built a pretty big power system to juice it all up. 800aH batteries, 3000K Victron Multiplus, 840 Watts of ground-deployed Bluetti solar panels, 100|50 Victron Solar Charge Controller and a LI-BIM to tap into the engine power while driving. I still have a ton f work to do on the van but it's livable now. I plan to build the rest as I learn what I really need. I am getting a 4WD conversion done on the van along with a 6 inch lift - this is scheduled for November. MANY people have pointed out that this likely a waste of money. They are likely right but I am blessed at this point in my life with more disposable income than I've ever had and I am turning that disposable income into as much adventure as I can.