"Why Am I Doing This...

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lopicma

Reaction score
... Van Dweller Thing"

This might be rehash of other people's stories, so bare with me.   I did not save nor put money aside for retirement.  There never seemed to be enough anyway (there never is).  And so, approaching my 55th birthday, I realize there will be no way to keep my house on Social Security "wages". 

Why let the bank have the house when I can still sell it and still work?
Why work to put money into a house I can't afford, and won't keep in the long run?
I can't afford to take a vacation, and I don't want to wait until I become decrepit to "retire" or travel.  Only to discover I can't.
I enjoy traveling, and did lots of "sight seeing" when I was an Over The Road trucker.

Looking back, almost everybody "in authority" has lied to me.  Physicians, employers, stock markets, ...and don't forget, the Government.  So, I am doing the opposite of their advice, and see if I get a better result.  Better late than never I suppose.

I have been watching Bob since 2013-14, and "making plans".  The van, the solar, the build out.  My goal is to be out of Michigan after Thanksgiving 2020, and start this new journey.  I am on track and moving forward...

Mark L.
Michigan

My story is very similar.

See you on the road someday.

Mark, you're still young and your plan sounds sensible to me.  Go for it!

Honestly, I realized that in 1st grade and had an arguement with the class suckup after she called me a loser-dork. The teacher actually backed me up much to kiss-asses chagrin.