Studying RV living

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Thomas

Reaction score
000_0787.JPGHi gang, and thanks for all the great information so far.  I'm a retired paratrooper, married, no children, no worries, home paid for, etc.  For several years I've been studying lifestyle alternatives.  I've studied several countries as candidates for expat living.  I've studied several varieties of non-traditional housing including tiny, shipping container, cement dome, etc.  My current curiosity is mobile tiny homes or DIY motor homes.  I'm an accomplished wood working hobbyist and am Jonesing for a project.  I also fly a kit-built experimental light sport aircraft - a powered parachute.  It's super cheap, super easy to learn, and I get such a thrill out of tinkering with something in my shop and then flying it.  So that's my groove:  I make unusual stuff that everyone is fascinated by but few would actually purchase.  An example is attached. 

During our pandemic adventure it's occurred to me what a bad idea it is to pay rent, to be dependent upon a job, an economy, or anything for one's shelter.  I have never purchased anything - including homes, vehicles, education - that I couldn't pay cash for.  I've only ever owned two vehicles, excepting the Harley, and they were/are both Chevy vans that I made comfortable for camping and for a hotel or Army school accommodation alternative.  It was always a great sense of freedom to know that everything I valued was paid for and would fit in my van - that I can leave right now and never return.  Now if I'd gone just one extra little step and been the weirdo that actually lived in my Chevy van when I was younger instead of paying rent, I would be a millionaire today.