Starting conversion on Ram ProMaster 2500

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KathyLee

Reaction score
I just bought a Ram ProMaster 2500.  I currently live in Indiana and will be retiring soon and hitting the road this November. I am disabled and will be traveling with my service dog. I know it's best to build the basics and as you go customize to one's needs.  In order to get me started - does anyone know of reputable individuals or a company that can help or advise me regarding the initial conversion of my van?  Thanks in advance  :)

Hi Kathy, I don’t know the answer to your question but I’m just south of you in Kentucky. I’m outside of a little town named Beaver Dam. If you get thru this way give me a shout. I’ll be here until winter.

I’m no expert on the subject of a van build but I plan on getting my ProMaster this time next year and doing the work myself. I do have some construction skills with basic knowledge of plumbing and electrical so I’m a little ahead in that respect.

I can tell you that YouTube is a great place to check out what others have done. It’s also a great place to get the links to certain equipment that they recommend for the build.

The first thing I did was write down everything I considered to be a must have for the build... working sink, comfortable bed, plenty of storage, etc.

Then, comes the task of writing down all that you can’t part with that you want to take with you, and all the equipment you will have to get that also must come along.