Should minivan-dwelling be considered car-dwelling or vandwelling?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ganchan

Reaction score
I'm new to all this, and I've been learning a great deal from the Van boards, etc. But unless I'm mistaken, minivan-dwelling has more in common with car-dwelling than full-sized vandwelling.

I initially planned to get a full-sized cargo van, but I've switched from a full-time plan to more of a part-time plan, rotating between tent camping and renting a room in my domicile state for brief periods. I'll be traveling alone and only staying in the vehicle at night (hitting the sack early), so in my particular situation it makes sense to approach the vehicle as a sleeper compartment on wheels (and a daily driver when I'm not on the road) rather than a rolling home. 

(Additionally, since I don't currently own a car, my vehicle shopping range is limited to a few miles' radius. I almost never see desirable/affordable cargo vans for sale within that radius, but I do have multiple decent options among minivans at any given time. So there's that.)

It's obviously a different lifestyle than that of 24/7 life in a cargo van or camper van. I'm thinking that I need to hang around this board so I can adopt many of the principles of car dwelling (and camping) to optimize my minivan-dwelling experience. If minivans don't merit their own board, then maybe the Car board is the best place for them....?

In your situation and needs, yes, I'd say a minivan would suffice and would be more like 'car camping'. It sounds like you won't need to worry about cooking, hygiene and other more major aspects at this time. When you are ready to go the full size route, your minivan will give you the range to look further afield, and have decent trade-in or resale value.

That will largely depend on which mini-van you choose.