Question on order of conversion

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Greetings! I've been reading the forums for a while and have a question about the order of cargo trailer renovations (and that question leads to a bunch more). If you're starting from the ground up, what's the order you do these things?

1. Install windows
2. Insulate
3. Install wiring from solar to batteries and from batteries to outlets

I've seen pictures of people's conversions where it looks like they've cut a hole through the wall and insulation in order to put in a window, but is that the best way if you have a choice? And is it better to put the wiring behind the insulation or on top of it? How do you protect/shield the wiring, or do people tend to let it hang loosely on top of the walls?

I've got ZERO experience with this stuff, as you might have guessed, but I keep on reading trying to educate myself. Any insight will be greatly appreciated! :heart:

Cheers,
KD

Tuesday after lunch I can tell you a bit about how I did mine. Winter was coming and I was in a hurry to get in it so that changed some of my decisions.

1) Installed vents. There is no good reason why I did that first except it did keep the trailer cooler while I worked on it. Also, I stained my floor and I'm sure that helped it air out.
2) Deal with the floor. You probably have plywood floors and you want to cover it with something or it will get really beat up over time. I just bought a quality floor stain that is intended for floors so it is really tough. And then I put down area rugs in the traffic areas. It took a very long time to air out!! Seems like it was 3 weeks.