New Fuse Block immediately blows fuse

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ArmorAbby

Reaction score
Hey folks, I finally got around to hooking up a fuse block to my system. Mainly because I want lights. I've been using my solar system for a few months now and it's all good to go. But I'm really tired of how battery operated LED lights sloooooowly go dim and die.....   

So tonight, I have the fuse block, a wire going from positive from one battery, negative from the other battery -- (two batteries in my bank) -- and going to either side of the fuse block.  

I hooked up an LED light strip, positive on one side of the block, negative on the other. Lights have their own built in power switch and dimmer switch. I put a #15 fuse where the lights are. 

I bought a pack of the wrong width fuses, so the only other fuse I have is a #20 so I put that in the area where my battery wires go. 

It immediately sparked, popped and blew.  

Soooo... now what am I missing... ? 

**Edit** If it matters, I'm using 10gauge wire from the batteries to the fuse block and the wires to the lights are very, very thin.....

Well, obviously you have a short somewhere or a miswired fuse block or a faulty LED strip or...any number of reasons.

First, make sure you have no wire filaments shorting across the terminals of the fuse block. 

Double check all of your wiring.

The short would just be in this section of wiring...? is this correct? or do I have ot be concerned about the entire system? My inverter and everything are always fine.

I unhooked the lights... it's just the wire from the positive battery to one side of the block, and the wire from the negative battery side, to the other side of the block.. still sparked... It didn't blow the fuse cause I stopped as soon as I saw the spark... but it got a bit of singe on the edge of the fuse blade...