Looking for new RV friends to talk to while I convert my truck

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

angelmander

Reaction score
I've been working on this 2001 freightliner MT-55 stepvan for a few weeks now. It's got a 5.9 liter in line 6 cummins diesel and an allison 5 speed tranny. Gross vehicle weight 29,000 pounds.  14 foot cargo area, plenty of cab room. It was an old DOT truck, bought it pretty cheap. It's got 62000 miles on it. Now for the juicy part

I already know what im doing with the conversion. I'm a mechanic and I know my carpentry and plumbing and electrical. i've already ran wiring and plumbing in the back area, put up wooden studs and started with insulation. So far i've spent about 9000 dollars working on it and im pretty much done with the cost and it's really just putting in the hours to get it done now. When I'm finished its going to have everything a regular RV does. I wanted to learn how to do all this stuff from scratch rather than simply buy an RV with everything already included, so I bought this box truck with nothing inside it.

I'm doing this because all of my old friends have moved away or stopped talking to me and I live in a rural area. I'm lonely and bored every day and I need to get the hell out of here, and I cant afford to pick a spot on earth and make my stake so I'm doing this RV so i can travel around and see different places and decide where, if anywhere, I want to stop.

I have lots of pictures of my conversion process so far and i'm happy to talk about it. Anyone who wants to hear more details about my conversion feel free to message me, I dont have many people to share my hard work with and I'm really excited to be able to talk to someone else who is mechanically minded like me and can appreciate the work im doing. Cheers