Looking at batteries for Truck Shell/camper & solar

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

G0ldengirl68

Reaction score
I am a beginner at this, and don't even have my shell back on my truck yet.  Then I'm looking at a possible build to customize the canopy/shell to be livable :)

Decided to look around at batteries, solar and found this board.  I am super interested in Solar but pretty sure I would need a battery as well, seems logical since weather changes ;)

Any help appreciated picking something for my small truck (Mazda B3000 1994), thanks in advance, Denise  PS  I would really only have need for a small propane or butane burner, maybe a 2 burned, charging my phone, laptop.  Maybe other things I'm not thinking of at the moment?

Well there is plug and play = most money
or
DIY = cheaper but more complicated

Then you must decide on the size of the battery so basically,

1. Determine daily electrical needs
2. size battery to #1
3. size solar to #2

Don't be intimidated. we can help you through it one step at a time.

If only going on short trips with minimal needs you might not need anything.

Highdesertranger

Look at batteries, study them, price them and learn what you need. Do not BUY a battery/s until you are ready to put it into a system. Lead acid batteries will be damaged just waiting around and the price of lithium is coming down.

highdesertranger said:
or

1.  Determine daily electrical needs
2.  size battery to #1
3.  size solar to #2

Don't be intimidated.  we can help you through it one step at a time.

Highdesertranger