Hi Top or Extended Cargo?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Darth_Muerte

Reaction score
After living in my Dodge conversion van for the last year, I now know I want to do this "permanently". My current van is not conducive imo though. So, let me ask the experts. What is more important, more horizontal space? or more vertical space? Note that I am only 5'6". Being able to stand up would be a real plus, but as a mechanic I am leaning toward a vehicle that can carry most of my tools without strain. I have found a good 1989 Ford E150 with a 300 Straight six(my personal favorite motor). It has a beefed up suspension and is very long. It is plain white, which seems to be the stealth color of choice.
While all of the above is great, I must admit that the creature comforts offered by a high top conversion van have their allure. OTOH, I can build my bed and storage facilities fairly easily in the cargo van.

My plan is to finally hit the road on or about June 1st. I have a grand total of $2150 in debt left to pay off. I have enough cash to buy the van outright, and then I can sell my current one.

Darth...DEATH???? (I'm sure there's a story behind that one!) :)

I guess the big question is: How many tools are your planning to bring along with you out on the road??

My buddy is a truck mechanic, and he'd need a small semi trailer to carry all his tools with him...but of course, he's got his welders, torches, floorjacks, jackstands, drillpress, all kinza rolling carts ect, and 3 walk-in toolboxs. (I call 'em walk-in models as they're nearly that huge!) He's also got his diagnostic machines, and a wall chocked full of repair manuals spanning many, many years, makes and models of cars and trucks.

There are also several other questions that you need to consider...
how much room are you comfortable in??
Are you going to build a kitchen or cupboards inside?