Greetings from Boise, Idaho!

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrandonW

Reaction score
Hello! My name is Brandon, and I would like to take this opportunity to introduce myself.
  • 48 years old;
  • Served in Air Force, 1989 - 1993;
  • Graduated from Eastern Washington University with a BA in Urban and Regional Planning;
  • Used to race dirtbikes (was lucky enough to race Vegas to Reno, and the Baja1000 (x3);
  • I still ride dirtbikes, but my focus has shifted over to bicycles;
  • I am NOT a mechanic, but I am a qualified "Parts Changer"; and
  • I have a van, and I am about to travel. (OK, not PERMANENTLY, but I do plan on using this thing.)
Long story short: I wanted a project, so I bought a 2000 Chevy Astro AWD. I painted the wheels black; I used "truck liner" to paint the lower trim; I put a 2" Overland Vans lift on it (with a leaf spring "Helper" for when I have my moto carrier; added a 2" receiver; in the back I made a bed that had storage underneath, and "telescoped" out so that two may sleep on it; and added a wooden rack in the back for my "kitchen" and storage. I started that project in January, finished sometime in February, and got two trips down to Maob in it when a co-worker decided they needed to have it. Made me an offer that I could not refuse, so then I was back on the streets, looking for something else.

I found a 1987 Ford F-150 Econoline "high top" camper van that is super sweet. About 98,000 miles, 302 motor, and it has a very open floor plan.