Ford E450 V10 Starter Problem

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fearnoevil

Reaction score
I've been starting my E450 every 3-4 days just to keep the battery charged (let it idle for 15 - 20 min), and it hasn't had any problems, always starting up right away.
Then yesterday I tried to start it up and it doesn't even want to turn over, just makes a couple of click-clack sounds. I hooked up the battery charger and it read 55% so I charged it for a few hours, but even at 100% it does the same thing.

I even tried jumping it but no help. Btw I've removed and cleaned the battery connections and all the wires look good and no other corrosion anywhere. So the last thing I tried was to turn the ignition on and get under there and, using a screwdriver, I tried jumping the starter. But it just sparks and makes a click sound. Now I'm no mechanic so I can't figure out if there's another possibility that's the cause, or is it pretty good odds that the starter's gone bad? I appreciate any input ;?D

With luck it could be as simple as the solenoid gone bad. You can find out easily by putting a screwdriver across the two terminals. If the starter turns over it's the solenoid.
Bob

Can you start the bus with jumper cables?

If yes, then the problem is either the battery or the charging system.

If no, then it's most likely the starter, assuming the connection down on the starter to the starting wire hasn't come loose. Could also be a problem with the ignition switch or neutral safety switch - try starting it in neutral instead of park.

Regards
John

Well if the starter is clicking the ign. and neutral safety switch is good.

Try turning the headlamps on and cranking the engine. If the headlamps go out when cranking, there's a connection problem. If the lights are not effected, indicating no load, then the starter may be to blame.