Be a school bus driver get a job any where

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

capt_caveman

Reaction score
0517181129a.jpgYep im a school bus driver for over 16 yr. every town I have been in needs drivers in there district .
 There was one town Gallop New Mexico that was 12 drivers short thats a lot thats 12 full time postions. 
  Go where the work is there I made 12 hr. in New Mexico here in Washington state I make 19 hr. Most schools do payed training ,Snow days schools out you stay home and still get payed the same check you just make the day up at the end of the yr. with the kids .
Any questions please ask .
Live free every one .....

Attachments

• 0517181129a.jpg
    0517181129a.jpg
    80.2 KB
Agree completely. One big benefit is full time usually means health insurance. A lot of drivers drive 2 to 3 hours in the early morning and 2 to 3 hours in the late afternoon and qualify for full time benefits, so if your self employed it is an easy way to qualify and get health and retirement benefits. It is not an easy job and has none of the common sense rules of over the road trucking, like number of hours driving limitations, so you need to be healthy and able to stay calm in intense situations even when you are driving. It can take a while to get a background check and trained for a CDL but most school systems will pay the cost if you pass. Most good school bus drivers really care about kids and the people they work with so you can get to know some really nice people. The state retirement system my school system was in allowed me to buy my military service time which allowed me to retire at 53 years old! There is lots of stress and long hours if you do trips but over all a lot of fun and an easy cheap way to get a class B CDL with passenger endorsement that can be used for other jobs. School bus driver on and off for 30 years!