Analysis Paralysis, Fear or All of the Above?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soulfaring

Reaction score
So I've been shopping for a few months now - online. My plan, prior to the world ending, was to be on the road January 2021.

I've been looking for a Chevy/GMC - mostly because that seems to be the preference 'round here. I hadn't found much until I came across this stupid Ford that is giving me headache. It's the first one I've looked at in person.

I am stuck. I can't make a decision I feel good about either way.  I don't want to pass on something that checks as many boxes as I can reasonably expect to. BUT I have concerns which I will bore you with shortly.  

How do I tell the difference between reasonable concerns and my brain making crap up because it just wants me to stay "safe" inside my box/apartment listening to noisy neighbors and their locked down, antsy, screaming kids? WHY is my brain is doing this to me! :mad:

It's a 2012 E250, 4.6L V8 with 36,382 miles. Asking $13.6k.

Seems like an OK ask for CA according to KBB. On the high side for an empty van but I like the low miles and I really like that it has the high top and that if I needed to I could live in it right now.

First year/6k miles were a rental.  Current owner bought in 2013 and drove primarily highway.

Build-out and high top were done by Happy Vans in San Jose.  They have very good reviews on Yelp and Google.

Owner is a Bigfoot researcher. He used the van for surveillance. Includes:
2 rear cameras - 1 high, 1 low.
Dorm fridge (not a 12 volt)
Soundbar/speaker
3000w Centech inverter
19"  flat screen TV - installed in paneling/wall behind calendar/board thing in picture.
DVD player/recorder 
2 blue top Optima deep cycle batteries

It's setup for shore power which is nice to have but I intend to be primarily off-grid.