1000 Trails Membership?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 13531

Reaction score
So, I'm a rookie to this long term camping membership rv park scenario. Here's my recent interaction with 1000 Trails in Menifee, CA...

First, let me state that I am ethical to a fault... I've owned and operated my building inspection business for 31 years and compare all my personal business dealings to how I operate my own business. In other words, I treat my customers as I would want to be treated...

Enter 1000 Trails.... I visit the park with interest in a full time annual space rental. I'm told by staff that I don't need a membership for one of the 12 month full time lease spaces. I'm further told the rate is $3695.00 per year including water, sewer and electric.. 

I preview a couple of available spaces and want to secure a lease.. Oh, but the lease manager is on vacation and won't be back for a week. Fine, I'll come back in a week....

I set up my appointment with the leasing manager and meet with her yesterday. I'm told they had a rate increase since I visited the park. The new rate is $4195.00... Fine, let's do it! Next I'm told I will absolutely need a 1000 Trails membership which is another $445.00... Next I'm told there is a $100.00 one time documentation fee... As you can see, I'm fast approaching $5000.00 for the lease. Wait, it gets better...