Your educational level?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Queen

Reaction score
What is your educational level, and did you find that it helped or hurt you in the course of your working or personal life?  Jr. high, high school, college, grad school, trade school, a professional degree?

For me, I tried to go to college every chance I got, but work schedules interfered greatly.  Went back to college in my mid 30's, needing to find a job that would slow the destruction of my body.  Found I had an affinity for working with the mentally ill so I pursued that, although a history degree was the dream.  I have a bachelors and some grad school under my belt and it bought my passage into the field I was interested in, so in that sense it was worthwhile.  

I also learned a lot in school that I hadn't had the time to learn on my own, but I think if I'd had access to the internet, I'd have made a great dent in that since I was ridiculously motivated to "know stuff".  Bought a used encyclopedia set when I was just out of high school and used to spend hours reading those, and the dictionary.  More than anything I wanted to be educated, I wanted to be able to intelligently discuss all the things running through my head.

How about you?

Got a two year degree from the local community college, majored in history and political science, I often refer to it as having the equivalent of a European high school education.

Transferred to a four year school, but dropped out my junior year.  Truth was, I didn't know WHAT I wanted to do with my life.

Bounced around various low paying, dead end jobs until I was 40, then finally wised up and took civil service tests until I landed a job with New York State.  Put in 25 years with them, ended up with a good pension and great health benefits.