Will I End Up Alone

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello from Alaska everyone!

This is my first ever forum post, so I’m pretty new to all of this. I am a 29 year old male who for the past year has been planning to leave the rat race behind.

I’d like to move to the West Coast area and live full-time in a van or small trailer for the foreseeable future. My ultimate goal is to take back control of my life – to have the freedom and time to enjoy nature and this beautiful world!

But as I’ve been intently watching Bob’s videos, a gnawing feeling has been growing in my stomach: “Am I setting myself up for a lonely life? What are the odds I will find a female partner in my age range (in her 20’s or 30’s)?”

I am an introvert (although I think I hide it well), but if I’m honest with myself I would admit that I have a deep need for long term companionship. I’ve always had what felt like a pipe dream of finding a woman like myself: a free spirit; a person unafraid of moving to the beat of a different drum; someone for whom sharing a beautiful sunset, a starry sky, or the patter of rain on a roof would be enough to make her heart happy.

I’m a bit of an unconventional romantic I suppose: I love living a minimal life focused on what’s important: memories rather than ‘things’. And it’s sad, but this has caused me a lot of problems in my past romantic life: most women (that I’ve met at least) really want creature comforts.

Nomads are already a minority, but I am a little worried that, at 29 years old, I would become a minority-within-a-minority. Most of the people I see in Bob’s videos are retirement age or, if they’re young, are male. It makes me wonder if I am setting myself up to spend the next 30 years exploring life without a partner.