Well dang...

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Solari

Reaction score
...just realized even though I registered here back in 2015 I never introduced myself. That's what I get for lurking.

I've been full-timing since 2016 in a 13' Scamp and very much enjoying it. I'd be happy to share any advice on tiny camping (off the grid too) -- it's so worth it.

If you're familiar with other camping forums, esp. those catering to tiny/small campers or boondocking, etc. (and if the hosts here don't mind), please point the way.

Am currently in Florida visiting family; will be headed out west (primarily Arizona) shortly for winter season, maybe I'll run into some of you?

Forever wandering,
Ray

Nice looking well thought out rig you have there! What size engine and what transmission is in you tow vehicle and how does the trailer affect mileage and reliability?

Nice looking well thought out rig you have there! What size engine and what transmission is in you tow vehicle and how does the trailer affect mileage and reliability?

Thanks, Bullfrog!

The first few years I started with my trusty 2006 RAV4 (with 130k miles!) 4 cylinder automatic and it did great hauling the Scamp over and around everything including some steep mountains. The mileage dropped to low teens on average.

The last couple years I upgraded to a 2013 Nissan Xterra 6 cylinder automatic for its hi/lo 4WD capability and high clearance for off-roading adventures when I wander away from the camper. The Xterra has also been excellent and when I am not towing across mountains the mileage is not affected at all.

Here's a write up I did about the camper and things I use: https://alongtheray.com/scamp-camper

Down the road I am looking into lifting the camper and larger wheels so it can follow me a bit further on these off-road adventures.

Wander on,
Ray

Last edited: