Walmart Anderson, CA--Odd Overnight Policy

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
I arrived at the Walmart in Anderson, CA at dusk and noticed an obvious absence of RVs in the parking lot.   There were 3 big rigs parked off to the side.

I asked an employee if overnight parking was OK and he said it was for trucks only, and suggested I check in with Customer Service.   The lady at customer service reaffired that parking was only for trucks and asked if I was a truck driver.   I replied "yes" and she said "have a nice night."

It's good to drive an RV that appears to be a commercial step van.

My Motorhome is a converted 379 Peterbilt road tractor with a 16’ Morgan dry van box on the back. It looks like a standard commercial straight truck. I have been parking at many different Walmarts for the past ten years. If I arrive at a Walmart which has posted No Overnight Parking (NOP) I just park by the semi trucks and I never get bothered; never told to leave. I’m just another commercial truck waiting to make a delivery.

If your vehicle is large, like a step van or straight truck, this can provide you with significant advantages over typical Class A or C RV motorhomes.

Just my opinion . . .

No bickering please. Bickering posts will be deleted.

If you're unsure of the parking situation the best course of action is to check with the store manager or customer service. Just be aware that the answer you get from one employee may not be the same as another employee's or the same as the lot security patrol.