Minivan Parking in No park overnight Walmart

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
We had been given permission to overnight park by the day manager, it was the night security who told us we had 60 seconds to leave or he was calling a tow.

Would he have called one after 60 seconds? Probably not, but we left.

The lot was not posted “No overnight parking”, but it apparently was.

This has only happened once.

lenny flank said:
Well, all I can say is that I've been Walmart-camping for four years in 60-some cities in 30 states, and have only ever been asked to leave once--by a new manager who had just changed the store policy that week and was allowing RVs to overnight but not vans. I have never had a cop issue in any Walmart.

But then, I am careful to deliberately select Walmarts that do not object to people parking. If someone has been repeatedly kicked out of Walmarts, they are choosing the wrong Walmarts. Some of them absolutely will kick you out, and those are all listed on the various websites that keep track of such things. I try to avoid parking in those places where I am actively not wanted.

As for the "why Walmart?" question--Walmart has all the things I need, in one convenient place. Food, water, a bathroom, wifi, and a safe place to park overnight (even though most Walmarts do not have any security guards in the lot, there are still always people around). And they are everywhere in every city.
Which sites list which walmarts you can park at?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Taliena21 said:
Which sites list which walmarts you can park at?

I use Allstays.Com

But keep in mind that these lists are sometimes out of date, as many Walmart change managers often, and the new managers sometimes change the policy.

lenny flank said:
It is a bit more complicated....