Under Mattress Ventilation?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ramblin McPete

Reaction score
I folks, I remember reading about some kind of mesh product to prevent condensation under the bed? Can anyone remind me what that material is? I found some stuff on Amazon but it seems kind of pricey...TIA.

Froli mattress springs or the mesh is the way to go.  I use the mesh and yes it is expensive @ $10 ft.  No condensation problems so far and I have been using it for about 5 years.

Here is the mesh I use.

If your bed is on a plywood platform, you can just drill a lot of holes in it.

Or spend your time in dry climates and not worry about moisture.

Thanks guys. I need it for a round dog bed, so I may have to attach two pieces side by side and then cut the circle. I need 52 inch diameter. Sailrite has some beautiful stuff in a single sheet that is big enough but it would be expensive.

B and C's Mattress Insider condensation protector seems to be the most economical way to go unless I'm willing to drill holes in my plywood bed, which I'd rather not. I could do both, drilling in moderation - but I think the condensation protector is probably going to be the most effective choice... and it can be cut to size.

Drilling holes in the plywood is only slightly effective (where the holes are). Everywhere else still has direct contact with the mattress and can trap moisture. The two liners mentioned above are the most effective as well as saving time drilling holes which don't do much of anything.

Drilling holes will reduce the weight of the bed.

4" holes would only require 100+ holes at 2" spacing to reduce the weight ~20# vs ~500 1.1/4" holes at 2" spacing to reduce the weight ~8#. (this is just a rough estimate based on 3/4" plywood)