Time for a Replacement Van. Struggling...

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Van Fan you sure do have a whole lot of restrictions. Some of them would require a big bull dozer and dump trucks to solve
So true! I have been known to put rocks in my own backpack, so to speak. Part of it is my desire/need to ensure my husband's comfort--a definite cost/benefit win for me. (We have considered just cutting his feet off, but I think he's more useful with them.)

BTW, your "flat pack" post above got me thinking about that concept in general. For a decade and a half, I worked part time as a "demo lady" in stores. (It started as a diversion, and I found I actually really enjoyed it. Who knew?) I still have a set of vendor-provided cardboard tables that fold and pack into the top and base. They are amazingly strong, and I use them in tandem for a large rotary cutting table. I probably will not put them in my new conversion, but the idea of light, strong and moveable does, indeed, rule!

Test drove a "stretch", 9-passenger conversion van a few days ago. At 20', I can't decide whether the 20" additional length is worth 1) the extra money, and 2) the extra hassle of driving and parking. It's surprising how much more difficult it seems to drive.

Tomorrow, I'll get out the left-handed van stretcher to see if I can squeeze enough space out of our rear storage to allow a minimal counter behind the driver's seat of a standard length van. (Fortunately, I have one to play with.)

Does anyone have a new-ish Express van? Can you tell me whether the floor between the seats is level? The conversions have a console over that area and it's hard to tell.

Does anyone have a new-ish Express van? Can you tell me whether the floor between the seats is level?