Securing the Van while Parked: security mesh; extra internal locks, etc.

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JJPDX

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a newbie with a new gutted (soon) passenger van but still aways away form hitting the road.  Been overthinking security- mainly while away from the van in Urban areas, but also when parked at a trailhead during an overnight hike.  And maybe even when I'm in it.

I realize that with the will, time, and tools a dedicated thief will get in.  I'm thinking of putting the next level of deterrence for the much more common smash and grab. Also, I think some will say that if your that worried, don't park there... but anyone using solutions such as:

1) Does anyone have additional locks inside their door?  Perhaps just 2 D-rings close enough to padlock or run a bike cable through?  I'm thinking the Back Barndoors, the side barndoors and maybe even the passenger door.

2) Anyone have a relatively effective Security screen on the most vulnerable  windows?  A good compromise between security but not look like a jail?  Just the next level of rack-smashing deterrence.

3) And finally my wackiest idea- instead of a hard mounted Bulkhead, some sort of movable security mesh screen sliding on a cable?  Like a Privacy curtain, pulled to the side when not in use. Would have to think about top and bottom tie downs...  Such as:

See attachment in next post...opps

So the all door windows would have some sort of extra smash deterrent.  If smashed, the door could not be opened due to extra padlock or cable lock, except, perhaps, the diver's door.  And there would be a security mesh inhibiting movement into the cargo area.
Krazy?

Thank you, jj

Security mesh.pngsee attachment for securing bulkhead mesh screen:

Attachments

• Security mesh.png
    Security mesh.png
    98.4 KB · Views: 65