Someone tried to break into my van while I was sleeping. Lets talk security

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nixsee

Reaction score
TL;DR; Someone tried to break into my van in the nicest neighborhood of Seattle last night. What makes for a safe parking spot and what can we do to make our vans more secure? I plan to install padlocks/bolts and window screens on the back and side doors, a folding metal security gate between the front and rear, a hidden magnetized kill switch somewhere on the dashboard, and a cheap diy GPS system that works in any country in the world. Links and details are provided in the discussion at the bottom. Please share your experiences and ideas so we can all avoid something like this in the future.

A real wake-up call

So I've been fulltiming for about 8 months now, and have parked without issue in nearly every conceivable situation as I've driven across most of the US and Canada through this time. I've been on busy streets of most neighborhoods of Manhattan, many residential and industrial areas of Brooklyn, quiet residential areas of other urban, suburban and rural places, national parks, oceanside lookouts, golf course parking lots, Walmarts, etc… I've never had a single issue from anyone or any knocks from police. My van is quite stealth and I'd like to think I also don't put it in obviously sketchy situations. I felt quite confident and safe about my strategies… until last night. I was parked in what is to my knowledge the most expensive area of Seattle. Two nights ago I arrived in town and I had parked down a more residential side street nearby where I'd guess the houses were worth a modest $3mm+. While wandering the area, I saw what is literally a palace a few blocks away that I thought would be fun to park in front of and grab a picture in the morning to capture the juxtaposition. So around 11pm, after spending the ev