Saying HI!

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tessa0717

Reaction score
Good morning everyone!  So excited to be here! 

I'm just beginning my search for a van to drive cross country and live in full time. So many options and I'm hoping you can help guide me. I have looked at everything from Ford XL to used dodge turtle top vans.

Most Important: I will be living in the van by myself and full time. I will be traveling/staying in everything from National Parks, BLM land, campgrounds, and the occasional walmart parking lot if necessary. Here is my list of must haves as I need to be as safe, homey, and convenient as possible:
Must be able to stand up in it
Indoor cooking, small sink, fridge
Room for at least a full size bed (fold up is fine)
A table/work space area

Vehicle Budget $5kish. Going through a dealership is not an option since my budget (and credit) are so low. I am looking at FB market place. I will be putting pretty much every penny I have into this project so need to leave $ room for the interior build.
i can build most of the interior myself (will have some help with this)

Do I go for: 
An older (1990-2010)  mid/high roof Dodge turtle top, Chevy G20, Ford camper/passenger van: usually has electric, ac, etc ready to go and are usually livable as is until I can fully convert.
Or convert something with a commercial feel: Ford XL or econoline and retro fit from there.
Skoolie? In love with the look and concept 

Which of these have a the smoothest ride? 
Inexpensive mechanical repairs (way out of my league haha)
Gas vs. diesel? 
Anything else I need to know?  

Thanks so much! So excited to be here :)

Tessa

Welcome Tessa0717 to the CRVL forums! To help you learn the ins and outs of these forums, this "Tips, Tricks and Rules" post lists some helpful information to get you started.