Safest high mileage on a truck that you can get

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kimkelb89

Reaction score
I want to get a truck camper and everything I've read, and everyone has said, is to not get a half ton because it's dangerous and limiting to the type of camper you can get.

My budget is low for both camper and truck (5k) and I've been looking into 3/4 tons. I was turned off to the high mileage (250 - 300k) but I see a quite a few, especially Ford, going over 350k and even approaching 400k.

In your opinion/experience, is it a good idea to buy a 3/4 ton with over 200k? If so, how much over (considering a truck that was not abused)? And is a Ford likely to last longer at the high mileage because they seem to be mostly Ford. 

They are a mix of gas and diesel and I have no experience with diesel and only know basic car maintenance. Thoughts?

pending maintance. a gaser can get 500K miles.
but most are toast bt 200K miles.
a diesel is just broken in by 200K miles.
but if any motor is not taken care of it will fail early in its life.
watch out for some motors as from the factory they have built in fail items. so research said motors before dropping the coin.

packnrat said:
a diesel is just broken in by 200K miles.

If you're talking about just the engine and transmission. Meanwhile, the rest of the truck is suffering the same wear and tear as gasoline engined trucks.

If you're limited to $5K, then I'd shelve the PU/Camper idea and go for a Van

I was perusing my area for 3/4 ton and the good or fair ones are $6K and higher.

I second the van idea. Buying a truck and trailer for $5k would almost be impossible in my area.

Thank you for the feedback. You confirmed my suspicions that getting even a decent pu with high mileage would be tricky and risky, especially since I don't have a lot to work with.