Q about installing solar panels on a fibreglass top

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gest

Reaction score
I'm trying to understand what issues are involved in the mechanical installation of solar panels on a van with a fiberglass top. I am a complete noob.  Do I just drill directly into the top when installing? Any special advice or things to watch out for like bolstering, etc.  I'm thinking I need to do that but I am sure the best way of doing it have been figured out, and once a hole is put in, it's in so that's why I am asking before the holes go in. Thanks.

I used some pvc blocks glued to the roof with 3m 5200. Then screwed the panel brackets to them. Fiberglass was less than 1/4" thick so not much for screw threads to bite into and more chances for leaks. I heard a lot of good about VHB tape but the blocks were a bigger surface area sticking to the roof.

Personally I'd want a mount that allowed easy future removal.

Rivet nuts (rivnuts) work if you have the thickness, can even put in a backing washer or a bit of thin plate.

Or 3M gel style epoxy with a low cure temp with threaded studs?

Punching a wood or sheet metal screw into predrilled fiberglass and getting good hold requires some skills and poor results require a larger screw, perhaps some more resin too to address the ripped fibers.

However, One can drill and Tap fiberglass for machine threads.

20150510_145908_zps5lpwfo4t.jpg

It can hold very well if done right, but the trick of course is doing it right, and haveing at least 1/4 inch thickeness. Obviously my 3rd brake light does not require much inthe way of pull strength But drilling and tapping is just much more desirable than drilling then cutting threads with a sheet metal or wood screw.

Here is how my (750$) 130 watt panel was mounted in 2007
mountedpanel_zpsddc2bfb2.jpg