Prismatic Battery Thread

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rabbit

Reaction score
I'm in the process of accumulating the makings for a 280ah prismatic cell battery. I already have in my possession everything but the cells themselves and possibly a cable or three to connect the finished product to other things. These cells were ordered from Will Prowse's current favorite provider of 280's, and ought to arrive any day now if all goes well. (Which doesn't by any means always happen. This is very much a high-risk purchase.) Since I already have a working 1200 watt off-grid system at my home base, I bought this stuff mostly to learn the new (to me) skill of building batteries, something I've never done before. If everything goes well, in addition to gaining experience I hope to end up with a large, useful LiFePO4 battery easily capable of supporting many people's van-life needs all by itself (and probably able to handle significantly more) for about $650 (including a BMS that in theory can safely support a 3000 watt inverter off of that one single large battery, though I'll probably never push it that hard and suspect nobody else probably should either). My goal is to try and accomplish this safely, but also without spending a ton of money on specialized tools I'd only need once (like stuff for initial cell-balancing) which would defeat the entire purpose of "going prismatic" in the first place. I haven't done all the research yet, and in the end may well have to break down and buy more tools. It won't break me if that happens. But I'm going to make a serious effort not to.