Passenger or Cargo Van?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Noel Pacheco

Reaction score
I'm new to the full-size van life. My wife and I own a 2003 minivan, taken the backseats out, and took it on numerous weekend warrior camping trips over the years. Although it is "cheaper to keep her," my minivan is on borrowed times and will eventually be turned into a short distance commuter until the wheels fall off. Now we're thinking of graduating to a newer full-size van, taking it a little further and longer away from base camp (home). Although I'm sold of pledging to a full-size cargo van, my wife is still the practical one. She's willing to go with a bigger van--8 cylinder as opposed to our 6 cylinder minivan, as suggested by the members on my other thread (Thank you)--but our newer/bigger van will have to serve a dual-purpose: a family commuter and a camper (with the seats taken out occasionally for camping). A Happy Wife is a Happy Van Life. So how do I concede to my wife's request without sacrificing stealthiness in high profile stealth camping areas like California? Any suggestions?

If it is going to be a family commuter with people sitting in the back seats they will enjoy having windows to look out of.

I love my cargo van, but hate that I can't transport people if I want to. It's great to be able to put the seats back in, especially if you're not living in the van full time. This guy made custom-fit window curtains with magnets - http://thevanual.com/finishing-touches/ - would black out your windows from the inside, not quite as "stealth" as a cargo van but no one could see in.

Just an observation about the actual process of removing and re-installing seats from vans, not sure if this helps. A while back I bought a nice Ford E350 passenger van with three rows of passenger seats, which I removed the first week I had the van.