Not lurking anymore.

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ldmccain

Reaction score
Good Evening,

Realized when I replied in the "Choosing to be Single and on the Road" thread, that it was my first post.
Oops.

Lets see 48, single, male, caucasian, employed.

I've been moving back this way for several years.  Lived in a telephone van during my last 2 years of high school, then started "moving up".  Purchased a house when I got married, sold it when I got divorced. 
Lived in apartments for many years. (they would not let me have visitation unless I proved I had a stable dwelling)
Purchased another house in 2003 when I was getting custody of my son. When he left for Basic Training I was stuck in the normal rut.
Purchased the RV on a whim for my 41st birthday. Did pay 9600 cash, to much in retrospect but my subconscious was trying to tell me something.  Took it to watch 2 shuttle launches and my son graduate from Basic.  Most of the time it just sat in the driveway teasing me.  I started getting rid of stuff a couple of years ago, not sure where all of this fear of getting rid of things and traveling came from.  I am fighting it..

Headed out in June of 2015 for a test run.  Went to far and to fast each week.  Broke my collar bone the end of July in ND, and drove back to MS in 3 days, not sure why.   I would be headed out now but my new granddaughter will be visiting here in December. Not going to miss her first Christmas.

I have signed up for a motorcycle rally in Moab, March 2016.  Leaving Jan 1st I should be able to travel 250 to 300 miles each weekend, find somewhere with enough cell service so I can work and be in Moab the first weekend of March.   Don't really have a plan after that, thinking maybe Death Valley and wander north from there.

Please feel free with questions and comments.