need advice on heavy duty car battery I saw somewhere

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris Anne the Mum

Reaction score
Somewhere I saw (on a youtube vid) the idea that you can replace the current car battery with something more heavy duty for running extra stuff, such as chargers, laptop, fans, or lights.  I had never heard of this kind of car battery, don't remember where I first saw this, and am wondering if maybe I dreamed about this LOL.  This is what I remember:

1. I think the battery was yellow
2. It was around $400 as I recall

My understanding was you could run basic electrical items off it without the same effect as taxing a normal car battery.  This appeals to me for several reasons.

1. I'm new to this and am looking to travel minimally for a few months without a huge investment.  I want to go to the RTR in Jan 2020 as my first adventure.  Once I'm there, I'm sure I'll get tons of ideas for adding power in my Chevy Traverse.  I'm very interested in solar.  
2.  I'm just about due for a new battery anyway.  Is this overkill to get it and travel only 2 months?
3.  I'm traveling alone and don't want to get stuck somewhere because I drained the battery.

I don't plan to have large electrical needs although I really like my Kindle and need my phone charged at all times, which I know can be charged while I drive. I don't need the internet for this trip.  I'm looking to unplug in a lot of ways.  But, I have to have a fan if it's hot or humid. LOL  I don't want to have to run the car to run a fan.

After the RTR I'll will travel to south of Houston to see family and visit some of the beaches on that side of the state.

Any information on a battery like this, tips on power usage, or advice on going a different direction for my electrical needs would be appreciated.

Love this forum and thank you! :heart: