liquid waste question

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rderito

Reaction score
Hi, just listened to bobs 10 commandments. all were very understandable of coarse for normal people.
I am a newbie camper (male) in a minivan, I have always planned on using a bucket and litter for solid waste and my dogs solid waste and carry it out to a dumpster but what's the best thing to do for liquid waste (urine) is it best to dig a hole and go there for a week, dig a new hole every day or just go behind a tree . or I guess I can go in the litter and carry that out too.
just wondering what you guys do.

Ya that's true.
I live near the Application Trail in Ct and have hiked many100s of day and weekend trips and I've yet to smell any human waste there.
most people dig the 6" hole for solid and urinate away from any water source.
That's a pritty confined area for millions of people walking in the same spot with natural vegetation right up to the trail that's mostly 12" wide..

True, the Appalachian Trail is incredibly densely populated. There are people who actually live in the woods by the trail, too. And with all those humans, trail dogs, bears, etc, peeing mere feet off the trail, you'd think it would stink to high heaven, but it doesn't. So I guess if we humans do our part to dig a good hole for the solids and deposit our liquids a reasonable distance away from traffic, Nature does the rest.