Is this van worth considering? - 2001 GMC Safari Build

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MoTiger

Reaction score
2001 GMC Safari - "Professional Architect Build" - 220K miles - $7000 (see link below)

I'm actually looking for a minivan and I don't know anything about GMCs, much less the Safari, but this thing is already built out for camping and looks pretty neat. However, it has 220,000 miles and is 19 years old.

Is there any compelling reason why I should seriously consider this vehicle for van dwelling?

https://boulder.craigslist.org/cto/d/boulder-adventure-safari-professional/7135765695.html

I am still learning all the nuances of nomadic living and van build out. @7k that to me seems way overpriced especially at those miles I do like the Astro/Safari family and even the ones with out a "build" are expensive. i am not sure why. I have seen many good rigs for far less than this.

It would be great to have something ready to go more or less. I think you could find a reliable and more spacious rig at a better deal not necessarily cheaper however possible tho.

Nice find tho! HF shopping!

Coworker of mine just found a class c 56000 miles an older model but in outstanding condition and mechanically sound.. for 1k... LOL

MoTiger said:
2001 GMC Safari - "Professional Architect Build" - 220K miles - $7000 (see link below)

However, it has 220,000 miles and is 19 years old.

If you plan to do a lot of travelling and aren't capable of doing mechanical repairs but would have to rely on shops, you should spend your money on a newer,lower mileage ride IMHO.  The inside and how it's equipped is nice but is it worth $5000 to you?

https://www.nadaguides.com/Cars/2001/GMC/Safari-1-2-Ton-V6/Van-SLT/Values

who ever designed it might have been an architect but they didn't know squat about attaching hardware to plywood.

highdesertranger