Is a Honda generator worth the price?

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dream True

Reaction score
I have never owned a generator before and like another poster just said I'm new to this. I have an RV tech that I'm working with. He looked at the small AC on my new-to-me Aliner and said a Honda E2000 would run it. He highly recommended the Honda so that's what I ordered. Now I'm having some buyer's remorse. It was a grand. Ouch! I saw a Westinghouse generator that has similar power out put and is quieter, lighter, (the Honda is at the top end of what I can lift so I couldn't go bigger even if I wanted to) and HALF the price. Is the Honda worth it? I know they are supposed to be very reliable and quiet, 2 things that are super important to me but would another generator be so bad? I ordered the Honda from Home Depot so easy peasy to cancel if I decide against it.

Dream True said:
I have never owned a generator before and like another poster just said I'm new to this. I have an RV tech that I'm working with. He looked at the small AC on my new-to-me Aliner and said a Honda E2000 would run it. He highly recommended the Honda so that's what I ordered. Now I'm having some buyer's remorse. It was a grand. Ouch! I saw a Westinghouse generator that has similar power out put and is quieter, lighter, (the Honda is at the top end of what I can lift so I couldn't go bigger even if I wanted to) and HALF the price. Is the Honda worth it? I know they are supposed to be very reliable and quiet, 2 things that are super important to me but would another generator be so bad? I ordered the Honda from Home Depot so easy peasy to cancel if I decide against it.

Perhaps this might help:

http://blog.mygenerator.com.au/yamaha-vs-honda-inverter-generators/

[video=youtube]