Starting A Battery Company

Van Living Forum

Help Support Van Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ldsreliance

Reaction score
I've reached out to the board ownership to try to make sure it is okay to discuss commercial ventures and did not get any response so hopefully this is ok.

I've been selling MillerTech LiFePO4 deep cycle batteries for 4 years and recently seen a huge uptick in interest and orders.  Being a dealer is fine but anyone who has some business experience knows that margins are slim and you have no control over quality and quantity.  So I have been working for about a year on finding a Chinese supplier to make some high quality batteries for me that I can import.  I narrowed the list down to a few possible suppliers and came up with a spec sheet for what I wanted.  After negotiating with one supplier, I ordered and have received a sample battery for testing.

The reason I am posting this is to solicit feedback.  Typically, in the past, I have sold batteries to people who use them for recreation, emergency preparedness, or other occasional use.  I have installed batteries in RV's and trailers but not as many, percentage-wise.  You guys literally live on what power you can produce and store in your RV's, vans, or trailers.  So I want to get your opinions and feedback as another potential market for these new batteries.

If anyone is interested, I am producing a video blog on my Youtube channel that explains further:

https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLbKwoGlXEWaqvfEM3rkN0H2g0nJFiIT-y